In my telehealth functional medicine clinic, I’ve seen that one of the best ways to do this is through our diets. Instead of going through an entire diet overhaul (although sometimes this is necessary), I like to incorporate anti-inflammatory superfoods into my routine as much as possible. While I can get high doses of curcumin in supplement form, I like to incorporate turmeric throughout my day as much as possible. During the cold winter months, I love mixing up a warm cup of turmeric, black pepper (which increases curcumin’s bioavailability), ginger (another anti-inflammatory), and coconut milk (healthy fats help fight inflammation as well) with a little raw honey as a sweet way to end my day. When I am really looking to up my inflammation-fighting efforts, I make sure to choose matcha, as it has significantly higher levels of EGCG. In fact, one study9 found that matcha had up to three times more EGCG than regular green tea! Similarly, another test found that matcha powders had higher concentrations of EGCG (50 to 55 mg of EGCG per gram of tea) compared to brewed teas (20 to 40 mg of EGCG per gram of tea). A study on mice demonstrated that galangal—which has a strong, sharp flavor—may calm inflammation throughout the body by down-regulating10 pro-inflammatory cytokines IL-6 and the inflammatory pathway NF-kb. This action is due to its phytonutrient content11. So while it may not have collagen or some of the other gut-healing nutrients in bone broth, galangal broth still packs a punch when it comes to fighting inflammation and is great for vegans and non-vegans alike. Ellagitannin antioxidants are so powerful, in fact, they have been shown to help improve brain fog and cognitive function by reducing inflammation in the brain13. Plus, you can get pomegranate juice at almost any grocery store, so it’s easy to grab on your next shopping trip. You can find chlorella in liquid form to add to your water. Pro tip: Drinking it before sweating may increase its detoxification abilities and, in turn, will help lower inflammation levels.

8 Of The All Time Best Drinks For Fighting Inflammation - 518 Of The All Time Best Drinks For Fighting Inflammation - 48 Of The All Time Best Drinks For Fighting Inflammation - 958 Of The All Time Best Drinks For Fighting Inflammation - 198 Of The All Time Best Drinks For Fighting Inflammation - 98