These four medicinal mushrooms have been used in Chinese medicine for centuries for effects as varied as strengthening the immune system (all of them, but especially chaga); increasing focus, concentration and memory (lion’s mane); supporting a spiritual practice (reishi); and improving athletic performance and sex drive (cordyceps). Weird stuff for a Wednesday morning before 10 a.m., but I’m into it. I realized that I have been looking forward to consuming the mushrooms every day, and I can’t help but wonder: How does ritual factor into the wellness equation? The mushroom products feel meaningful in a way that other supplements I take don’t. Is ritual the vehicle of meaning, a tool helping me to internalize what it means to consume these intelligent fungi? I can’t imagine developing the same attachment to a vitamin B pill. According to Four Sigmatic founder Tero Isokauppila, chaga is highly alkaline and is therefore great for combining with coffee to decrease its negative side effects and acidity, and lion’s mane offers a powerful instant brain boost—powerful enough that it seems to deliver the brain-stimulating effects of caffeine on its own, such as increased attention span and heightened focus. Blend until smooth and creamy, then pour, sip, and enjoy!

7 Things That Happened When I Drank Mushroom Tonic For A Month - 47 Things That Happened When I Drank Mushroom Tonic For A Month - 397 Things That Happened When I Drank Mushroom Tonic For A Month - 267 Things That Happened When I Drank Mushroom Tonic For A Month - 77 Things That Happened When I Drank Mushroom Tonic For A Month - 697 Things That Happened When I Drank Mushroom Tonic For A Month - 19