See, I don’t believe in conventional gender roles. I don’t think women should be submissive to their husbands. I believe that marriage is a partnership. It is a balance of power built on unconditional love. I don’t expect my husband to know what I need without my telling him. How could he? I don’t expect him to act a certain way if that’s not who he is. I don’t even expect him to love me. Instead, I show him love. I ask him for what I need. And I trust him without expectation. It’s easy to feel trapped if you’re under the impression you must constantly strive to meet the expectations of others. Loneliness and hurt will become the norm if you continue to place expectations on other people. So, today I challenge you to open yourself up to the freedom that comes from releasing your expectations of yourself, your friends, your family, your coworkers, and your partner.

4 Reasons Why Expectations Can Ruin Relationships - 274 Reasons Why Expectations Can Ruin Relationships - 694 Reasons Why Expectations Can Ruin Relationships - 61